Roll Call!

Periodically, the Mothers With Cancer hold a roll call for everyone in our community — that’s you, if you’re here reading, on behalf of yourself, your spouse, or your friend.  We’d like to hear how you’re doing, what you’re up to, and if you have any questions that women on this site can answer.  I’d like to invite everyone, writer, commenter, or friend, to leave a comment below and let us know how you are!

Thanks to our writers for July — check them out, and visit their personal blogs to read more!

  • ClergyGirl, who is writing about how to assess and let go of a hurtful comment;
  • Frances Barrie, who just had her yearly mammogram;
  • Judy, writing about life, adoption, and a fish tank;
  • Lahdeedah, who just walked the Avon 2 day walk;
  • Lyn, who just finished Herceptin and may be getting her port out soon;
  • Sarah, who is ROCKIN’ the chemo again;
  • Stella, who has walked 300 miles in her training for the Avon walk this year; and
  • Toddler Planet, where I’m writing about the Avastin decision.

And before you go, check out Laurie Kingston, who talked about surviving cancer, blogging, and Mothers With Cancer on CBC this week!

19 Responses to Roll Call!

  1. Lisa Smith says:

    Waiting on scan results today 🙂

    • whymommy says:

      Ooh, that’s hard. Hang in there! Are you a do-er or a worrier while you wait? I’m usually ok, as long as I stay away from “Dr. Google!”

  2. whymommy says:

    I’ve had surgery and treatment for a recurrence this year. I just finished 7 weeks of radiation, and I’ll start Xeloda the day after BlogHer. Does anyone have experience with Xeloda/side effects that they’d like to offer?

  3. throwslikeagirl74 says:

    I’m still attached to a drain (5 weeks now. Bleah.) from what is hopefully my last big reconstruction surgery. Just tweaking from now on. Had my last 3 month oncologist appointment (we’re on the 6 month schedule now) and everything looks good.

  4. Lyn says:

    I did not get my port out on Monday as planned due to some new pains under my arm on my cancer side, and also in my upper chest lymph area same side. My surgeon decided to schedule a PET just to be safe. She said we will schedule the port removal and PET results at the same time, planning on good news. I am not too concerned, and am relieved to have a scan just to be sure.

  5. Spruce Hill says:

    Had a recurrence in February when I found a swollen lymph node behind my left collar bone, Hanging in there with my chemo. I have a two week cycle on and then one off. The weeks in between my two chemos are the hardest. I don’t feel as sick but do get very tired,more then I did with my first chemo experience and will not lose my hair, so this is a positive. I have had two PET scans and my cancer is on the retreat. I have had some trouble keeping my red counts up and have had two blood transfusions. My chemo is open ended, no telling if I will ever be off of it. Just keeping my mind on the big picture. kicking cancer!

  6. Well my journey lately has been a rough one! I have been undergoing reconstruction, and have had 4 surgeries since my double masectomy in Feb. I realize I am lucky, that I was able to skip chemo, radiation etc. I was also given a ‘cancer free’ diagnosis from my oncologist…due to the fact that I had DCIS stage 2 tumor….but a double masectomy. My oncologist said I reduced my chance of recurrance to 100%. However, I have had two infections, had an expander taken out and a deadly infection on Father’s day. Exactly a month later, I had the expanders put back in and that was last Tuesday. I have been in trememdous pain and my ordeal which I thought would be over by now is not even close. I have struggled with depression and frustration over the last months. You can read my blog at: Outrebeautybistro.blogspot.com to see my progress, frustration etc. Now the expander is back in and the other side is filled up and ready t go…I pray for no more infections and closure of this really awfully year. Still, my heart goes out to those who have it way worse than me. They must be much stronger than I.

  7. whymommy says:

    Oh, Heidi. What a tough time! That really sucks that you’re having so much pain and depression. Hang in there — and come back and post with us anytime, ‘k?

    And let’s celebrate the “cancer free” part! Yay!

  8. Traci says:

    I just started reading this blog a few months ago. I am a 34 year old mom with 4 young children – my oldest is 5. I was diagnosed with appendix cancer in April and had surgery. It was stage two muscinous adenocarcinoma. With sugery alone, my oncologist estimated that I have about a 20% chance of it coming back and that chemo may possibly drop it another 5%. I opted out of chemo and instead am chosing a more healthy diet and exercise. Is there anyone else out there who has chosen not to do chemo?

  9. justenjoyhim says:

    I’m in a holding pattern as far as breast reconstruction surgery goes — I had my last fill during the second week of July, and have to wait for at least six weeks before I have surgery to remove the expander and put in the permanent implant. I think my plastic surgeon, who I call Dr. Boobala, is off during most of August because he said the earliest date we could get it done would be Sept. 1.

    Right now I’m waiting to hear that insurance has approved the surgery, and then we’ll set up a date for the surgery. In the meantime, I have a rock on my chest. Or sometimes it feels that way. 😉

  10. I hit my 4 year anniversary in April. I recently had my yearly scans and they were good. I did have some trouble earlier this year with pain in my lower abdomen and it was attributed to diverticulitis and also too much calcium binding things up. It is a difficult balance to get the calcium needed when on Aromasin as it does not have a bone component.

    Emotionally the whole family is still dealing with anxiety and its aftermath even 4 years later. We can not attribute all of it to the cancer but we do know it certainly played a bit part.

  11. Three months ago I had my scans and they found “something”, “probably nothing” on my lungs. Three months later the “something” is still there but hasn’t grown at all. My oncologist assures me it’s indeed nothing to worry about. With that appointment I earned my title of Totally Cancer Free! I still have to go in every three months for scans, but for the first time in a year and a half I’m relaxed…

  12. just finished AC – round 4 of 12 of chemo – on to Taxol next.

  13. Lisa says:

    I had a bilateral mastectomy in April, 2009. I have dealt with several infections, but thankfully have not had to remove them. Thankful for the port – IV antibiotics were a breeze! I have finished chemo and radiation and now I’m waiting on finishing up the reconstruction – maybe I will get my ‘real boobs’ in September! I have a son (11 yrs old) that has handled all this better than I ever could have imagined!