It’s National Breast Cancer Awareness Month, by Judy

October 1. It’s National Breast Cancer Awareness Month.

I hate to sound bitter, but . . . well, I’m aware. I’m pretty much aware 24/7, except when I’m sleeping (unless it invades my dreams) or during the very off-moment when I’m totally engrossed in something else. Even then, I think Cancer is at the back of my mind.

You see, while I’m cancer-free, and thankfully have been for almost 22 months now, I’ll always “have” cancer. That’s the paradoxical life of someone with metastatic cancer. I’m living with a metastatic disease, hoping and praying that I don’t get a recurrence.

My personal journey with cancer is almost three years old, having been diagnosed on Dec. 20, 2007. I’ve been in remission for almost two years, starting on Dec. 9, 2008. I’d like to keep the second record going . . . and going . . . and going . . . and going.

Anyways, it’s National Breast Cancer Awareness Month and globally, every 69 seconds a woman dies of breast cancer. It’s a scary, horrifying statistic.

I’m aware, all too aware. Are you? Has breast cancer touched your life in any way?

___________________________________________

Cross-posted to Just Enjoy Him.

5 Responses to It’s National Breast Cancer Awareness Month, by Judy

  1. Tati says:

    What happened to your post from today (Oct 4) about why you’re starting to dislike October? Did you pull it? I though it was great. I can’t relate in the sense that I have stage 4 breast cancer (I had stage 2) but I can relate with a lot of your anger and I just wanted to say that I hear ya and I support everything you’re saying.

    I have issue with people who are always telling me “Oh, after everything that you’ve beeb through and everything that you’ve overcome, “such-and-such” should be a piece of cake for you!” NOT! I didn’t turn into a superhero to fight cancer, I did what I was told to do to live as long as I can and continue to watch my kids grow, that’s it! I could go on and on, sorry! My thoughts and best wished are with you.

    • justenjoyhim says:

      Tati,

      Yes, I impulsively pulled it; I’m sorry.

      I had an ugly run-in with someone I thought was a friend who doesn’t like how I’m handling things, doesn’t like how I feel about my situation . . . even though most of the time I’m pretty upbeat about it. I still have difficult times, hard times, and to be honest, I write about those more than I write about the upbeat times.

      I should have left the post; shouldn’t have let someone else, someone who is projecting something on me from her — something that is NOT my problem — keep me from speaking my piece. I apologize for that.

      And I hear you . . . and understand. My best wishes are with you as well.

    • justenjoyhim says:

      Oh, Tati, I think I can get it back.

      πŸ™‚

  2. Jan says:

    Judy – please email me. I was diagnosed with IBC June 2007 and would like to invite to the IBC email support group that I belong to ibc@ibcsupport.org.

