“Bad things happen to good people,” by Judy

Isn’t that the truth?

I don’t think I know anyone who deserves something like cancer. Even if someone is a 2-pack/day smoker, s/he doesn’t deserve lung cancer or didn’t ask for it or isn’t just getting what’s coming. Because, you see, the thing is that some people who smoke a lot don’t get lung cancer. And others who’ve never smoked a day in their lives do get lung cancer.

It’s the same with breast cancer. Just because I’m overweight doesn’t mean that I deserved to get Inflammatory Breast Cancer. There are plenty of other overweight women who don’t get breast cancer or any other kind of cancer. There are those who have it in their family who don’t get it. I have no family history of breast cancer, yet here I am.

I once had someone tell me, in so many words, that I was responsible for my cancer because of my being overweight. It’s not only an untrue statement, it’s downright cruel.

I happened upon a wonderful article called “How To Talk To a Friend With Cancer.” It’s so on-the-nose that I’m thinking of buying the book the author, Lori Hope wrote, Help Me Live: 20 Things People With Cancer Want You to Know.

Read the article. Get the book. Educate yourself and try, try to show some empathy for people who are struggling. No one deserves this horrible disease. NO ONE.

Because, you know, no one is immune from life’s tragedies.
_______________________________________________________

Cross-posted at Just Enjoy Him.

2 Responses to “Bad things happen to good people,” by Judy

  1. Tati says:

    You are absolutely right. For a while after my diagnosis I blamed myself – I was too stressed, ate too much junk food as a kid, etc, etc … thankfully I didn’t have anyone flat out tell me I got cancer because I was overweight and I’m sorry you had to deal with that. People get stupid, stupid, stupid around cancer patients sometimes! I, too, wrote an article about how to talk to a cancer patient should anyone be interested: http://hubpages.com/hub/talking-with-a-person-who-has-cancer

    Take care.

  2. Laurie says:

    Yes. Yes. Yes. These are words so many of us need to repeat to ourselves and tell others!

