today (by Judy)

Today I am grateful. Today I am blessed. Today I cry tears of joy, of emotion, instead of tears of sorrow, fear, and anger. Today (as with all days) I appreciate my family and friends, everyone who loves me and who I love. Today I am so incredibly blessed.

Today I had an appointment with my oncologist, Dr. Funky Glasses (Dr. FG) who told me: 1. my cancer tumor markers have gone down, and even though they’re not a definitive for how I’m responding to the chemo, I was happy to hear that; 2. that I can probably live “many years” with my type of cancer, that her plan is for me to live many years; 3. that I’ll have a CT scan on Feb. 7 to get a real picture of how I’m responding to the chemo; and, 4. that there are many treatments for my kind of cancer and many more will come as time goes on.

Today. Today I thank God for my life. Today I love my life again. Today I’m encouraged, boosted, happy.

Today I know, as I do all days, that there’s no cure for what I have, that I will probably die from this. Yet today, it’s OK. Today, if I can have “many years,” it’s very OK, more than OK. Today, I accept it.

Today Absent Minded Professor squeezed my hand when Dr. FG told us that my cancer tumor markers had gone down. Today I had an honest conversation with Energy Boy in which I told him the good news. Today, I heard him respond, “YAY!” Today, I also told him that there aren’t any guarantees and that I might get sick again, but that the important thing is that Dr. FG said “many years.”

Today I didn’t ask Dr. FG to define “many years.” Today, and in the future, I’ll use my own definition of “many years.” Today is mine.

Today I thank God for my life, for this good news, for all my blessings.

Today is all I have right now, and today is a wonderful thing.

_______________________________

Cross-posted to Just Enjoy Him.

6 Responses to today (by Judy)

  1. […] Pingback: today (by Judy) « Mothers With Cancer […]

  2. Today… this made me smile… have a great weekend with many more to come!

  3. Bon says:

    i am so very, very happy for you. 🙂

  4. jill says:

    Today you made hairs stand up on my arms and cry tears of joy, along side you.

  5. laura says:

    awesome news….so happy you are having a “today” day

  6. whymommy says:

    Today! Today!

    This is wonderful news, Judy.

    I’m SO happy for you!

