a wonderful charity for breast cancer patients/families (by Judy)

I couldn’t sleep last night. For the first time in a long time, it was out of excitement rather than being sick, worried, scared, etc. I was happy. Lying there in the dark, I found myself smiling. SMILING as I was trying to sleep. Imagine that!

Yesterday was, as founder of Little Pink Houses of Hope, Jeanine Patten-Coble wrote in a blog post, A Big Day. A Big Day for LPHOH and A Big Day for recipients of the May/June beach weeks that LPHOH granted to some applicants.

I know. As I said in my previous post, I’m one of the recipients of a free week at the beach with my family, a week to rest, recharge, and reconnect. A week to meet a few other breast cancer patients/survivors and their families. A week to go to the place I love most in the world, THE BEACH, which gives me the rest and relaxation no other place does. A week to, as much as I can, forget my troubles and sink them into the warm sand of the North Carolina shore.

Patten-Coble is a breast cancer survivor herself. LPHOH is something she created after her own bout with breast cancer. Patten-Coble had a dream to do for others what helped her during her time with breast cancer, take a week at the beach, relax, and unwind. Patten-Coble has done the proverbial taking lemons and making lemonade out of them.

LPHOH is a new charity, and this year marks their first year of beach retreats for some breast cancer patients and their families. I know there are tons of good charities out there, but if you’re looking for someplace to put a few of your hard-earned dollars, if you’re looking for a way to help breast cancer patients, this is a charity that’s very deserving.

God bless Jeanine Patten-Coble and her dream. God bless her for not only having a dream, but for making her dream a reality. I consider myself incredibly blessed to be one of the first recipients of a beach week in North Carolina in just a little over a month. I am OVER THE MOON with joy at this news. My family and I are getting a vacation that we wouldn’t be able to afford if we were to try to pay for it ourselves, and we are grateful, extremely grateful.

And blessed. Thank you, once again, LPHOH, for this blessing. You are a blessing in our lives and in the lives of other breast cancer patients and their families.

___________________________________________________

Cross-posted to Just Enjoy Him.

5 Responses to a wonderful charity for breast cancer patients/families (by Judy)

  1. […] Pingback: a wonderful charity for breast cancer patients/families (by Judy) « Mothers With Cancer […]

  2. Jenster says:

    Woohoo!!! That’s so fabulous, Judy. What a great charity!! You and your family deserve this and I can’t wait to hear all about it!

  3. Lahdeedah says:

    Yay you! Go have fun!

  4. Katie says:

    What a wonderful blessing! And, we know that NC offers some wonderful hospitality!!

    See you soon!

    Katie

  5. Dawn Locke-Trillhaase says:

    I am so glad that you were one of the recipients of LPHOH!!! You were so kind to post the info for others to be able to apply, even though it may have taken a spot away from you! Congrats! I pray you enjoy every moment with your family!

