Metastasis … and a second clinical trial

Two things. 

1.  The cancer has spread to my bones.  This is called bone metastasis, and it’s not a particularly good sign.

2.  The cancer in the lymph nodes in my chest now shows “near-complete resolution” with “minimal hypermetabolic activity.”  This is GREAT NEWS and as far as I’m concerned, it’s at least a minor miracle.  Not to use the word lightly around my friends the nuns or anything, but really?  Near complete resolution?  Awesome.

We just have to work on the cancer in my bones now, adding Zometa infusions once every four or twelve weeks to strengthen the bones and (hopefully) slow the cancer’s growth as the Femara continues to block the estrogen that feeds it.  I say once every four OR twelve weeks because we don’t know yet.  I’ve agreed to join another clinical trial and recieve whichever treatment the randomizer assigns me to receive. 

As you guys know, experimental research is important.  Just because the last clinical trial was so hard on me doesn’t mean this one will be – and every little piece of knowledge helps the researchers plan treatment not only for me but for the women and men who come after me.  Bone mets happen to 70% of breast cancer patients, they say, and we need to find ways to control their growth until they can be stopped.  So I’m off to start another clinical trial.  I had my first infusion on Thursday, with side effects (fever, aches, pains, flu-like symptoms), this weekend.  I’m hopeful that this treatment will work too.

7 Responses to Metastasis … and a second clinical trial

  1. Lahdeedah says:

    You rock, sister. And amen on the clear lymph nodes 🙂

    Love,

    Jill

  2. justenjoyhim says:

    All the best to you as you embark on this clinical trial.

  3. Jenster says:

    Just so you know, you’re on my very short list of people I think of as heroes.

  4. Thinking of you all the time.

  5. Thank you for your willingness to participate in a clinical trial. Of course I hope and pray it helps your recovery.

    In 1993 I participated in the first trial of monoclonal antibody therapy in humans. I remember the feelings of anxiety and hope associated with receiving a novel treatments.

    The results of the study in which you are participating will help future patients. Scientific progress is a series of small steps.

    With hope, Wendy

  6. nancyspoint says:

    Good luck with the trial and everything! I’ll be checking back. I’m new to this site. Thank you for sharing.

  7. katherinembc says:

    I am new here–thank you Not Just About Cancer.

    I have a low volume of bone mets and also get Zometa. For me, the first infusion was the worst, now I don’t really notice it. Drink lots of fluids, Zometa is tough on your kidneys. Xgeva is a new bisphosphonate given as a shot–my center doesn’t yet offer it. Tell your dentist you on Zometa. Routine cleanings and fillings are ok, but root canals etc should probably be avoided. I volunteer with http://www.mbcnetwork.org–lots of good resources. Wishing you well!

