Five Years…by mary beth volpini

Five years ago this morning I heard those dreadful words… “You have Breast Cancer”. My world stopped and I am sure I was walking around with what I call the “deer in the headlights” look for quite a while. I gathered all of the information I could… I made some hard decisions….I did what the doctors told me to do. I have reached some of the milestones that my doctors said were important… One year of survivorship, two years of survivorship and now five years of survivorship. Is it a guarantee that my cancer will not come back? NO …no one can give those guarantees, but today I am not going to think about that. I am going to celebrate that I have reached this milestone.

On Monday, I went in for my yearly breast MRI. I tried to cheat and make the appointment right after that with my breast surgeon… hoping that she would be able to read the results right then. She did try, but not all of the information was available. But she is a woman too and she knows how we worry. She did her physical exam and took a preliminary look at the MRI results and said she was “happy“ . Yesterday I received a message from her office, it was “good news, call us back“. The nurse said “Dr. Police is happy we will see you in a year“…well if Dr. Police is happy then mb is happy!

So I will raise my glass… or cookie in my case and take a bite out of life for as long as I can!

cross-posted at marybethvolpini

2 Responses to Five Years…by mary beth volpini

  1. Lahdeedah says:

    Yeah, Baby! Pass the cookies!

  2. Lilly says:

    I am so happy for you. I have stage IV breast cancer that is in remission, So far I am a 16 month survivor!!

