bad news (by Judy)

I had a CT Scan last Tues., June 14. I FINALLY got the results today (my oncologist was on vacation last week), and it’s not good. There is “progression” in the cancer in the liver, the phone nurse said. What that means is that the tumors have grown. Also, they now see cancer in my lungs. I don’t know exactly what, the sizes of tumors, etc. My oncologist will call me tonight to discuss this with me; I also have an appointment with her on Friday. According to the nurse, Dr. Funky Glasses isn’t sure where to go from here.

I am, understandably, devastated.
____________________________________________________________

Cross-posted to Just Enjoy Him.

9 Responses to bad news (by Judy)

  1. Alli says:

    Ok I just read this and I am undeniably upset. I do not for one moment understand why they give this kind of news over the telephone.
    I am so sorry you are going through this. Above all please do not lose hope. I will hold you in my prayers if that’s alright…

    Alli X

  2. Karen says:

    Strange to give that news over the phone. Sending hugs and keeping you in my prayers

    Karen

  3. Spacemom says:

    That sucks. I wish they would wait until you were there to talk to you. Why bother giving you half information so you can be upset?

    I will keep you in my thoughts. I agree with Alli that there is always hope.

  4. Jojo says:

    Words feel so inadequate now. This is terrible news. I think you have said it best in the name of this blog.

    Just enjoy him.

    Just enjoy him.

    Just enjoy him.

  5. justenjoyhim says:

    I didn’t want them to wait. I’d already been waiting for almost a week for the results and begged them on the voice mail to call with some information.

    I’m just pissed now that my oncologist has yet to call me and it’s 10 p.m.

    Thanks, everyone, for your encouragement.

  6. Cheryl says:

    you are in my prayers…..

  7. Oh, crap. Judy, I love you and my heart is with you today as you go forward from here.

  8. Lahdeedah says:

    Oh, Judy. I am devastated, too.

    I am here for you in any way you need me.

    xo

    Jill

  9. Not sure how I found your website… but just wanted to tell you that you are in my prayers. And I wanted to share with you that my sister has Stage IV breast cancer. She was diagnosed with Stage I back in 2000, and it came back with in 2004–in her lung, her brain, her liver and her bone. And she is still here, not just surviving, but thriving. She’s done chemo again, some radiation, and gamma knife… so while I KNOW how scary this is for you and your family, I won’t lie, 2004 was a terrible year for us, for my sister, but she is doing AWESOME now. Take good care of yourself, and surround yourself with love.

