please honour my friend by having some fun (by Laurie)

My friend Rebecca died this week. She was all of 37 years old (if I’ve done the math right) and she had metastatic breast cancer. She was also one of the funniest people in my online community. She was also generous, straigtforward and honest. My heart goes out to her friends and family – the people she loved, wrote about and who knew her best.

Rebecca left strict instructions that we were to shed no tears after her passing (I’m afraid I’ve let her down on that front but I’ve been doing my best) and that, instead of a funeral she wanted a celebration of her life. I’d love to join the party and to hear the stories that those closest to her would be bound to share. Because Rebecca took her fun seriously.

I won’t be able to attend the celebration (Rebecca lived in Cape Cod) but I would like to do something. And I need your help.

1. In the next week or so, please go out and do something fun. Do anything at all, as long as it makes you happy. If you need inspiration, Rebecca loved dogs (especially her pit bull, Diezel), cooking, eating out (her restaurant reviews were among my favourite blog posts), her scooter, her little car, road trips, NASCAR, kick boxing, books, funny movies and music. If none of these things appeal to you, please go out and do your own thing. If you like, bring someone with you to join in the fun.

2. Let me know. You can leave me a comment on this blog, at Not Just About Cancer or send me an email (laurie dot kingston at gmail dot com) or message me on Twitter (I’m @lauriek). Just a few words to let me know what fun thing you did in Rebecca’s memory. I’ll compile a list and make sure that it gets to her family.

That’s it. It already makes me feel happier, thinking that there will be a little more joy in the world this week. I think Rebecca would approve.

14 Responses to please honour my friend by having some fun (by Laurie)

  1. Amanda says:

    Here via Susan, used to come for Jen. Of course I’ll do this. When the fun’s been had I’ll let you know.
    xo

  2. Jeanne says:

    Went to the beach with my pups…one of which is a pitbull named Denver. Prayers said… much love, jeanne

  3. Laurie says:

    Thanks to you both. Every comment puts a lump in my throat.

  4. I just took a quick visit to Rebecca’s Blog and I love, love, love this opinion of hers:

    “I hate the term ‘baggage’ in reference to peoples emotional state. Baggage gets lost at the airport, not in a persons mind. And yes, we all have our personal struggles that we would like to loose at the airport, but can’t seem to let the handle go. ”

    I love that. She sounds like she was quite special and it saddens me to lose another so young.
    I will try some fun in her honor this week.

  5. Jojo says:

    Went sailing today. There wasn’t much wind but it sure was beautiful on the lake. Being on the water renews my spirit and releases all the tension in my body. Afterwards, we sat around some picnic tables with friends and visited. Pretty much a perfect day.

  6. Laurie says:

    Thanks all. The list is growing. I really appreciate your contributions.

  7. Amanda says:

    Laurie, we adopted a male cocker spaniel around Christmas. The other night when I got home he cuddled between my legs in a very unpuppylike way. I scratched and scratched him. The yesterday as we worked on a swingset for our kids, I romped with him, talking to him about the pine cones he was chomping and chirping at him as he frolicked. It was incredible to really be present with him. As his red collar winked from between his floppy black and white hair, I was reminded of this post and of your wishes in Rebecca’s honor.
    Peace.

  8. Laurie says:

    Amanda – beautifully written. thanks so much.

  9. Lahdeedah says:

    Thanks for such a creative tribute, Laurie. I intend to ride my bike to the top of Mt. Montara within the next week, and when I do, I’ll sit on the little bench overlooking the Pacific and say a prayer for your friend, Rebecca, as well as send up some thanks for her gracing the lives of those who loved her.

    xo

    Jill

  10. Laurie says:

    That sounds so wonderful, Jill. Thank you.

  11. ShallowGal says:

    My boys and I just decided to blow off swim practice, put the turkey in the freezer & go out for chili dogs. We’ll drink a toast to Rebecca.

  12. Laurie says:

    Thanks so much. That’s lovely. Now I want a chili dog.

  13. justenjoyhim says:

    We went out to dinner last night at one of our new favorite restaurants which was fun. I even had a Sour Apple Martini. Does that count?

    And Laurie, I’m so sorry for your loss. 😦

  14. Laurie says:

    That totally counts. And thank you. And now I want to try a sour apple martini.

