A Different Kind of “Bling” (by Judy)

I love jewelry. Most of what I wear isn’t exactly practical; it’s for looks, as is most jewelry. I always wear my wedding ring and almost always wear my engagement ring on my left hand. My mother just gave her three daughters three engagement rings that she’s had for years: hers, her mother’s, and her step-mother’s. I was the recipient of her step-mother’s engagement ring, so I wear that on my right hand now, often along with a cross ring. I often wear a cross necklace too.

For the past few months now, I’ve been wearing a different kind of “bling,” jewelry that’s practical, that could potentially be life-saving. After my diagnosis of diabetes in Jan. 2011 and my week-long stay in the hospital with a pulmonary embolism in March 2011, I decided it was time to get a piece of medic alert jewelry. If, God forbid, I’m in an accident or have some health problem and I’m by myself, it would alert medical personnel to what I consider are my biggest health problems and most important prescriptions. It also has a warning not to use my left arm for blood pressure or IVs, as something like that could cause lymphedema since I had a mastectomy of my left breast and some lymph nodes were removed.

I spent quite a bit of time picking out which piece of jewelry would work for me. I looked at a few online stores, and I eventually chose American Medical ID. Because I wanted to include my most pressing medical concerns on it, I needed something that would be a certain size. I eventually chose a dogtag necklace, and I try to remember to wear it every day. I think it’s worth the investment just as a precautionary measure. It probably won’t ever be necessary, but if something were to happen, it’s a good thing for me to have. I know now how quickly life can change, how things can happen that none of us are prepared for, so this is one small device to help Just In Case.

It’s recommended that you include your name on your medic alert jewelry, so my dogtag has my name on the front and my most important medical information on the back:

It’s something to consider for anyone who has a chronic condition/illness that has medical restrictions or pertinent information, Just In Case.

Yes, Just In Case. May it never be needed.
_________________________________________________________________
Cross-posted to Just Enjoy Him.

Comments are closed.

