On Hope (by Judy)

Hope begins in the dark, the stubborn hope that if you just show up and try to do the right thing, the dawn will come. You wait and watch and work: you don’t give up.
~ Anne Lamott

You know, for all the talk about dark times, death, and whatnot on this blog, you would think I’m a pretty morose person. However, I’m really not. In my day-to-day life, I’m typically an upbeat, hopeful person. I write about the heavier, darker stuff to work through it. The regular ol’ day-to-day stuff? What’s to write about, to work out?

I can, though, blog about things other than dark stuff, and one of those is Hope.

Hope is a wonderful thing. Hope is probably my favorite word, in fact. Well, I like the word whimsical too . . . but I digress.

I have fear, but I also have Hope — by the boatloads, in fact. If I didn’t have Hope, I wouldn’t be able to get up each morning, get dressed, take my chemo pills, go to appointments every week to get my INR checked, work, and come home and be with my family. If I didn’t have Hope, I wouldn’t be at church every week, worshipping the God who has given me this wonderful life even though it has its difficulties and limitations. If I didn’t have Hope, I wouldn’t do the hard work that Anne Lamott mentions, the work of getting up and getting on with it. If I didn’t have Hope, I wouldn’t have the belief that my friends going through difficult times would eventually get through them also. If I didn’t have Hope, my life would be very bleak indeed. I have Hope; I love Hope. Hope gets me through so many things.

While I need to talk about the tough stuff like death, I also need to remember — and talk about — things like Hope: the Hope that this third chemo is healing my cancer, the Hope that I’ll be here for a long time for my family, and the Hope that my life has meaning.

God gives me Hope. My faith gives me Hope not only that I’ll experience healing from this cancer, but that sometime, some way, somehow, there will be some meaning in my going through all of this. My belief in God Himself is hopeful.

God. Hope. Faith. I do have these, and they are just as important as the so-called “darker” topics like death.

I don’t know what life has in store for me. I don’t know how long I’ll have on this earth. I just don’t know these things. It’s not my place to know them, though. I’m not God so I can’t predict, foresee my future. I can just Hope that it’s one that I love as much as the life that I have now.

I have Hope that it will be.
________________________________________________________________________________
Cross-posted to Just Enjoy Him.

5 Responses to On Hope (by Judy)

  1. Lahdeedah says:

    Love Anne Lamott. Love you. Love this topic. Love your view.

  2. justenjoyhim says:

    Aw thanks, love you back. And love Anne Lamott. She’s amazing.

  3. Elise Franco says:

    We should be thankful for the dark times, for without it we will never be able to see the light. We don’t see the goodness darkness brings us at first, but eventually when we emerge out of the darkness we are better and stronger in every sense of the word.

  4. justenjoyhim says:

    Very true, Elise. Thank you.

  5. Direct Hit says:

    I agree Anne, thank you for sharing this. This is one of the greatest blogs I’ve read today. Very inspiring.

