I Actually Like Pink (by Judy)

I mean, pink is a great color, or a great spectrum of colors, I guess I should say. I look good wearing pink, I’ve been told. It has so many different hues to it. There’s pale or light pink which can signify femininity, softness, gentleness. Then we have bright or darker pink which I suppose signifies cheer, joy, and brightness.

Maybe that’s exactly the problem. Breast cancer isn’t feminine, soft, or gentle. It’s not cheerful, joyful, or bright. Especially for those of us with metastatic breast cancer of any kind, it’s anything but those adjectives. It’s harsh, hurtful, and hard. It can be brutal, dark, and menacing.

Now, that doesn’t mean that we live our lives in a brutal, dark, and menacing way. To the contrary, the women I know with Stage 4 cancer embrace life, living it to the fullest, and think of each and every day as precious. We may deal with our illnesses with a harshness or a kind of ruthlessless, but that’s because we have so very much to live for.

So the fact that Pink signifies breast cancer can be problematic for some of us, particularly, as I said, those of us with Stage 4 breast cancer, with terminal breast cancer, who will probably die of this disease. It’s hard to get excited about pink ribbons, pink clappers, pink pens, pink scissors, pink blenders, and pink you-name-it when we know, barring a miracle or some sudden death from another source, that we will die from this disease.

It’s not pretty. It’s not soft. It’s not either feminine or cheerful. It’s difficult. It’s never-ending. It causes health problems other than “just” the breast cancer if we are going through treatment. And it will most likely kill those of us with Stage 4 breast cancer.

It’s a brutal truth, but it IS the truth.

I like Pink, I really do. I just don’t like how it’s been overused for National Breast Cancer Awareness Month. I don’t like how it ignores the brutal facts of breast cancer. I don’t like how it ignores that men can get breast cancer. I don’t like how it has become an industry wherein companies make money off the backs of breast cancer survivors.

I like the color, in and of itself.

I just don’t like what it’s become every October.
______________________________________________________________
Cross-posted to Just Enjoy Him.

One Response to I Actually Like Pink (by Judy)

  1. Juli says:

    I totally agree and feel the same way about pinktober. Take care Judy. I enjoy reading your truth as you see it. Take care my Bc sister

