This? Is the Kind of Thing That Drives Me Batty (by Judy)

OK, now that we’re done laughing uproariously from the wordplay on the shirt, let’s just not buy it.

No, really. Let’s not.

According to the blurb on the site:

Our Personalized Breast Cancer Awareness Black T-shirt is a great way to support the fight against Breast Cancer.

My response?

No, no it’s really NOT.

Squeeze a boob, save the ta-tas. NO. Sorry to be a pill with this stuff, but I would gather that many of us who have in fact lost boob(s) or ta-ta(s) don’t find these t-shirts funny, nor do we think they actually help the fight against breast cancer.

I mean, really! Where on that site does it say that they donate any money to a breast cancer research foundation? It doesn’t. So my assumption is that this “fight against breast cancer” takes place on people’s chests which is ineffective at best and offensive to some of us at worst.

As Ginny Mason, Executive Director of an organization that I DO suggest you give your money to, The Inflammatory Breast Cancer Research Foundation, said in a comment to a post of mine on Facebook:

Most “pink stuff” is marketing only….perhaps a little money is donated to bc causes but the company gets the tax write-off then. If you want to make a difference, find a bc organization you think is doing good work, support them personally and get the tax write-off yourself! If you need a pink broom, pink mixer, etc. get some spray paint!!

Good advice, very good advice.

*sigh*, I have a feeling it’s going to be a very long October.
_______________________________________________________
Cross-posted to Just Enjoy Him.

5 Responses to This? Is the Kind of Thing That Drives Me Batty (by Judy)

  1. TheBigCandMe says:

    Thrilled to see so many bloggers taking umbrage with the pink movement. This shirt is a perfect example of how out of control it is! You and Ginny are correct; few ‘pink’ dollars make it to research, and there also are monetary limits to how much $$ a company donates — no matter how many shirts (or whatever) are sold.

    Let’s deflate the sails (and sales) of all things pink’d.

    -Renn

  2. Cheryl says:

    I hope you don’t mind but I shared your post on my facebook page. I so totally agree with you. I have come to hate Oct for this reason. My mom died from breast cancer and I firmly believe in order to make a difference you need to donate your time and money to the “right” organizations not just buy pink items.

    Thanks Judy

  3. Karen says:

    My friends and I go “pink” in October – but not “marketing” pink. We have a great breakfast – including cupcakes and other goodies made with a pink theme, raffle prizes donated by local businesses, home baked and made goodies for sale. And every cent we raise goes directly to the research foundations. The first year it was about $1000 – last year is was $4500. How many pink pens would need to be purchased to raise that?

  4. justenjoyhim says:

    That’s the kind of Pink I like, Karen! Good for you!

  5. angela says:

    Here, here!! I so agree with you. i feel like there are more of these kinds of campaigns out there (designed to enrich the creators/’sponsors’ than to truly benefit BC, or any cancer for that matter), than what’s truly legit.

    angela 🙂
    (princess tinybutt)

