Another IBC Angel is watching over us today

Two nights ago I logged on to Facebook to find that our own Judy of Just Enjoy Him had entered hospice care.  Barely an hour later she was gone.

Judy was, tragically, already metastatic when she was diagnosed with Inflammatory Breast Cancer in 2007.  She fought this horribly aggressive cancer for 4 years with grace, humor and a double dose of faith that we could all hope to attain.  Judy’s tale wasn’t always pretty but it was unfailingly honest.

She has left behind her husband, Frank and their 10 year old adopted son, Nate.  Please keep them in your prayers at this difficult time.

Please feel free to leave your memories of Judy, favorite stories and words in the comments below.  I’m sure her husband and son will take comfort in them.  I know I will.

 

 

11 Responses to Another IBC Angel is watching over us today

  1. Liddia Beeman says:

    Thank you for lettng us know. Her famly is in my prayers. I enjoyed her humor, even when things were rough.

  2. Cheryl says:

    My heart is aching for her husband and son. They will be in my prayers. I will miss her even though I only knew her through her writing.

  3. I feel like Cheryl does. My heart is aching for her family and I will also miss her, even though I only knew her through her writing. She sure had a way with words.

  4. Shannon Kelly says:

    I had no idea she had passed until just a moment ago. I enjoyed reading her articulate writings and loved her spirit. I am a single mom of an 11 year old energy boy of myself so I could relate to that. God Bless her husband and son and everyone else who she touched in some way. RIP sweet Judy…

  5. Alyson says:

    How very sad, I also enjoyed her reading her posts and shall miss Judy, thoughts and prayers with her family, RIP.

  6. KCMP says:

    Judy was an angel on Earth and now has heavenly duties. We all ache for N and F, her extended family and all who loved her.

    I had the joy of knowing her in person since Jr. High in Ohio. This year I got to visit with them as the arrived in NC for the glorious week at Kure Beach courtesy of Little Pink Houses of Hope, what an amazing group they are. I took her lunch one day when I was home for Thanksgiving and she was so weak then, but trying to give her body time to rest and heal.

    Her sister posted on Facebook that Judy left on her own terms — after sharing her love and sending the guys home to get some dinner. That is our Judy.

    Her Facebook page is still up with many tribues. Information about the service in Canton on Dec. 17 and memorial contributions are in her formal obituary — http://www.legacy.com/obituaries/ohio/obituary.aspx?n=judith-kooistra-ohles&pid=154969590

    Thanks to all who have shared love and support thorugh this blog and other contacts over the years.

  7. Bon says:

    i am so sad to read this…i enjoyed Judy’s honesty and the warmth that came through in her posts.

  8. Valerie says:

    I enjoyed her posts and will miss them. Very sorry to hear this news. My thoughts are with her husband and young son.

  9. Stimey says:

    I am so saddened by this. I’ve been following Judy off and on since her diagnosis. I am brokenhearted for her family. Much love to them.

  10. Pam says:

    Thoughts and prayers for Judy’s family. It’s only been 7 months since I lost my sister-in-law, Sarah (Sprucehill). So unfair to find another brave mother has lost her battle. I am so sad for all.

  11. Margaret says:

    KCMP… Judy treasured your friendship. To others… Judy was an inspiration for so many of us. I miss my younger sister.

