Robbed

 I am new to the whole ‘blog” thing and only started this year but I know some of you have been blogging for years about things other than cancer. I am hoping you can help.

It seems that someone stole my story “The Geode Moon” and pasted the whole blog word for word on their site.  When I google “Geode Moon” it comes up to their site. I am not given any credit and my name appears nowhere.  When I try to comment it tries to get information from me.

Are there blogging ethics?  Or is it just the chance I take by putting my stuff out to the world?  I feel violated; especially because it was a very personal piece.

Any suggestions?  Are there blogging police I can call?

 

Thanks, ladies.

16 Responses to Robbed

  1. Hope says:

    What a horrible thing to do! I’m also fairly new at blogging, but I’m pretty sure that taking your story is against blogging ethics! ((Hugs!!)) I wish I had advice, I’m sorry. I know I love all the bloggers on this site that I’ve read. You all inspire me greatly:)

  2. I just googled Goede Moon and it came up to your site. I know the experienced ladies from this site will be able to give you some advice.

  3. Sarah S. says:

    Post it on your site and link back to the person who did it and then leave them a comment and I bet they will take it off. It happens all the time, but I don’t think you can do anything about it!? doen’t make you mad?

  4. Sarah S. says:

    I just googled it and the first one came up sure enough, but the second time I got yours and then the MWC post about him ripping you off. 🙂

  5. Please include a link to your blog post.

    I searched on goolge and came up with that guy’s post. I could not even find a link to your post.

    If you can take a picture of that guy’s post (there is a way to capture what is on the screen oand save it), then I can show you where the guy missed something that shows that he did not write it himself.

    Do it soon, before he catches the error and removes it from his post.

  6. I copied the page. Don’t know if I did the best job, but if you can’t find another way to do it, I can send you what I copied.

    • francesbarrie says:

      How did you copy it? I am wondering if everything on the site is other people’s writing. None of it makes much cohesive sense.

  7. Andrea says:

    What is your name and what is the address of your blog… and what is the address of the faker? I don’t know which one is real and which one isn’t.

    It’s rotten how somebody can do that! 😦

    • francesbarrie says:

      My name is Frances and my blog is Kicked by an angel or francesbarrrie.wordpress.com. The guy who took it is named Varant Cohen and the blog it is on is “Don’t-Miss-Tomorrow.blogspot.com

  8. imstell says:

    Frances – it does happen an awful lot. One way to fight it is to put some sort of copyright blurb at the bottom or top of every post you do. I think that most of the time it’s done automatically. It happens a ton with the MWC posts. There will be some cancer or health site out there that just rounds up posts about certain topics.

    If you find the blog police please let me know. 😉

  9. Andrea says:

    I think the blog in question has been deleted, Francis. When I went to the address you gave, it said that blog couldn’t be found. 🙂 Hurray!!!!!!!!!!!

    • francesbarrie says:

      That would be awesome! That you, ladies, for taking the time to help me figure this silly thing out. Happy New Year!

  10. I noticed that this is not the first time you mention this topic. Why have you chosen it again?